Multimedia StoryTelling

By the students of MCJ300 at The University of Southern Mississippi

Jason Collins Comes Out

leave a comment »

Professional basketball athlete Jason Collins recently shook up the sports world, with his recent announcement of his homosexuality. Collins, 34, is a 7-foot-tall African-American center for the Washington Wizards and made history by being the first American male athlete to openly admit that he is gay. Collins first went public with his lifestyle in an interview with Sports Illustrated.

In his past, he has dated many women, even getting engaged at one point. In his interview, he stated that he first thought about coming out in 2011 during the NBA lockout, and that the Boston Marathon Bombing reassured him that “things change in an instant,” and that he shouldn’t wait. The quote given in the video reads “I’m a 34-year-old NBA center. I’m black. And I’m gay. I didn’t set out to be the first openly gay athlete playing in a major American team sport. But since I am, I’m happy to start the conversation. I wish I wasn’t the kid in the classroom raising his hand saying ‘I’m different.’ If I had my way, someone else would’ve already done this. Nobody has, which is why I’m raising my hand.”

This video is an anchor story from ESPN that refers back to the quotes from Collins from the Sports Illustrated interview. The anchor then throws the story to field reporter LZ Granderson, a gay black man himself, who talks from the phone. Granderson discusses Collins’ personal life, and his family’s views on the recent events. Granderson adds that being a gay man himself, society shouldn’t be so shocked with this news, with the state of the world today. The story worked very well. I liked how ESPN had used Granderson in this story, with him being homosexual as well. It gave a very unique insight on the news.

Written by tnrwtsn

May 1, 2013 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

