Multimedia StoryTelling

By the students of MCJ300 at The University of Southern Mississippi

Increased Internet Use in Latinos

with 2 comments

As a young adult living in 21st century American, the Internet is my life. I am constantly checking Facebook and Twitter, getting ten emails a day just from school, and streaming videos to relax between study sessions. I could never imagine my life without it. However, as a Latina, I was interested to read that only four years ago, only 64 percent of Latinos used the Internet. This surprised me. I know my own mother is just as attached to the Internet as I am. I think she spends more time on her smart phone than her teenage daughter does.

According to ABC News, a new study by the Pew Hispanic Research center found that Latinos are now closing the digital divide, mainly with cell phones. Only a few years ago, more whites and blacks used the Internet than Hispanics. Now Hispanics equal blacks in Internet usage while whites still come in first in this category.

It surprised me to think that there are still people in America who still do not use the Internet that much. It is such a valuable resource today. So many people use the Internet to keep up with current events, pay bills and check bank statements. I found it especially interesting that race seems to be a factor in Internet usage. I’m glad to see Hispanics using the Internet more. It is such a valuable resource that people should not be without, at least in this country. This allows Hispanics to become more of a presence online, and eventually social media and other multimedia sources will go on to reflect that.

Written by yolandacruz93

March 8, 2013 at 3:37 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting piece. It is amazing that some people don’t have access to the web today, considering how vital it is to many of our lives. The problem of the digital divide is becoming more marked as technology moves so quickly.

    bloggingmom67

    March 12, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    • I agree with the above poster. The technology divide has made accessibility even more difficult. It is great that those who cannot afford internet services can still use the resources made available to them from their local libraries.


Leave a Reply

