Multimedia StoryTelling

By the students of MCJ300 at The University of Southern Mississippi

Living on the Roof of the World: The Kyrgyz of Afghanistan

with 4 comments

This video was absolutely wonderful. It is exactly the kind of work I would like to do after finishing school. It dealt with a group of people known as the Kyrgyz who live high in the Himalayas and are a nomadic people who travel with their herds to new food sources to keep them alive. Obviously it is frozen most of the year where these people are so the living conditions are very difficult.

One thing that struck me about these people as I watched this remarkably made video, was how similar they are to the Mongolian peoples I met last December. Last Christmas I had the opportunity to travel to Mongolia where I spent two weeks and went to many of their country schools and met children of nomadic herders. I was also able to travel out to some of the nomadic peoples’ homes known as, Gers.

Baruun-Urt, Mongolia December 2011

Baruun-Urt, Mongolia
December 2011

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very cool video and story. That’s pretty neat that you went to Mongolia!

    bloggingmom67

    December 5, 2012 at 7:39 pm

  2. Great story and fascinating video, thanks for sharing.
    Have you posted more pictures of your visit to Mongolia on this blog or somewhere? I would love to see them.
    Hope you get to follow your dream.

    Nomad

    December 7, 2012 at 10:02 am

    • Hey Nomad! Thank you so much for reading! I have not yet, but I have had opportunities to travel to Mongolia, Indonesia and China and meet some wonderful people with beautiful stories to tell. I plan to begin posting more about these travels, photos and the stories I heard, soon. When I do I’ll make sure to share a link here. Thank you so much for your interest and encouragement.

      jamiecw

      December 7, 2012 at 7:44 pm


Leave a Reply

