Multimedia StoryTelling

By the students of MCJ300 at The University of Southern Mississippi

Turkish woman awaits trial after beheading her alleged rapist

with one comment

This example was very compelling to me. I first read the story of this woman beheading her rapist some days ago, and as I was reading the article, I had to envision it as the writer revealed more details to this gruesome act of self-defense. What makes this example so interesting to me is that I had already had this preconceived notion of what the victim and the man looked like. I had already imagined my own setting of the town village and the woman carrying the head to town-square.

With print news, whenever the writer is trying to describe a scene or a person, the reader most likely will create their own interpretation of what is going on. It’s like reading a book. If each person had only read those Twilight and Harry Potter series without seeing the films, they’d always have their own image of what Hogwarts looked like or what Bella’s physical features looked like.

A video presentation to an article brings it to life, and everything falls into place once the reader has an actual image to draw from. With this example, I found myself comparing my views of the story after reading it in print and seeing actual footage of the victim, her rapist, the village, and even the decapitated head! I loved this example because the footage showed various pictures of the rapist as well as the victim. I also thought it was clever of the news team to show the actual head lying on the ground in the middle of town-square.

It really made a difference to me to actually SEE the people involved in the story I previously read. I began to ponder on whether news seem more sufficient when there are visuals for the reader to grasp onto. For me, I think this example really captured the true essence of storytelling in journalism. It was informal and kept me on the edge of my seat.

Written by williamcrosby301

September 6, 2012 at 5:05 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like your definition of good multimedia storytelling: Keeps you on the edge of your seat. All good stories should do that. When I was in j-school, our profs told us: You want your story to make a man spit out his coffee at breakfast and yell to his wife, “Martha, you’ve got to read this.” We want the same thing now that we are using multiple platforms.

    Boring on any platform is just plain ol’ boring.

    bloggingmom67

    September 10, 2012 at 6:02 pm


Leave a Reply

